Pixelated Heart’s Top 20 Games of all Time

20. Timesplitters 2 (Xbox)

I love this game. I’m fairly certain that my friends and I logged more hours playing this game than we did on Halo or Halo 2. Back in the day I had two X-box’s LANed in separate corners of my bedroom. My friends and I would pick up 40’s and a pizza or two and play this game all night long. The best thing about this game is its humor. The characters that you can choose from range from soldiers to monkeys, and everything in between. My favorite character is The Shoal, a Whale that floats above the ground. Despite the humor in the game it is a seriously tight FPS. If you’ve never given this game a try I suggest you do, you wont be disappointed. I really hope they release a new Timesplitters soon.

19. Defenders of Oasis (GG)

I feel lucky to have played this game when it was released(1992). I was the only person out of my group of friends who had a Game Gear (All my friends had a Gameboy). I was never able to go to them for advise about games to purchase. Since I had no idea what games where good and which games were bad I just picked them based on what the boxes looked like. For my birthday I asked my parents to get me either Ax Battler, Chakan the forever man or Defenders of Oasis. I had played none of these games and had heard nothing of them either. My parents chose Defenders of Oasis and for the next year or so I religiously played the game. It is a RPG. The main character is a prince. Three more characters also join your quest, they are a Genie in a lamp, a boy named Saleem and a thief called Agmar. A game for Genesis was released titled Beyond Oasis and later a title for Saturn titled Legend of Oasis. I enjoyed Beyond Oasis though its more of an adventure game than an RPG. I never had the opportunity to try Legend of Oasis (It was only released in Japan). I never found any info proving Defenders of Oasis belonged to the same series of games as the other two, but I assume it does.

18. Sonic 2 (GEN)
I got this game with my Genesis for Christmas when it was released. I had asked for the Genesis with a copy of Streets of Rage 2 but my parents were unable to find it because it was sold out everywhere. I’m really glad I ended up with this bundle instead because my sisters and I played Sonic 2 way more than we would have played Streets of Rage 2. I just recently started playing this game again on Xbox Live and realized that I had forgotten how much I love it.


17.Bomberman World (PS1)

This is my favorite Bomberman game of all time. I have most of the Bomberman games, but none of them have ever seemed to capture the fun of this game. I have both of the X-box Live games, but even those don’t seem to do this game justice. It had a multi-player mode that is very similar to the Xbox Live games. It supported the multi-tap for 4 player games. The game also had a fairly deep single player mode.

16.Need for Speed 3: Hot Pursuit (PS1)
This is my favorite racing game of all time. When I heard it was being released for 360 and PS3 I got so excited, but then I realized that it wasn’t an update and that it was a remake. This is the game that got me into racing games. I asked my Mom to pick this game up for me the day I had my wisdom teeth removed, and played it non-stop for weeks afterwards.

15. Guts Rage: Sword of the Berserk (DC)
Holy Shit! This game is kick ass. I picked this game up at a flea market back in the Dreamcast heyday for only a couple of bucks. That entire summer my free time was spent drinking beer and playing this game. It is based on an anime(that I have never seen). The story is great, it revolves around zombies and monsters and a giant sword.

14. Super Mario World (SNES)
I tried very hard to keep away from games that make it onto everyone’s list, but this is one of the games that couldn’t be helped. This is one of my favorite games of all time. Everyone knows this game, moving on.

13. Doom (32X)
Sure, it doesn’t hold up too well today. But there was something magical about playing Doom on a home console when all my friends were still playing Sonic the Hedgehog and Super Mario World. It was a short-lived high however, as most of my friends purchased either a Playstation, Sega Saturn or a Nintendo 64 shortly after I got my 32X. I had blown all my cash on 32X and had to wait a few years till I got my Playstation.

12. Tekken 3 (PS1)

This was one of the first games I picked up for my PS1. I went to Funcoland with money in my hand, but no idea what game I wanted. I looked at Tekken 3 and Alundra, and finally chose Tekken 3. I do not regret this in the least. I played Tekken 3 all the way up until I retired my PS1 for a Dreamcast. A few years after that I picked up the Bleamcast pack for Tekken 3 and the obsession started all over again. I played the game in single player mode all the time. When my friends came over they wanted to play it. Hell, even my sisters enjoyed this game.

11. Zelda (NES)
I have played this game numerous times, but never to completion until 2010. I downloaded this to my Wii and played through the entire game. This game is one of my favorite games of all time and it is one of the few that stands up to the test of time. It is still just as great as it was the day it was released.

10. Sonic 3 and Knuckles (GEN)

Sonic 3 was a great game on its own, but once it’s locked onto Sonic and Knuckles it becomes an epic. This game had it all. The ability to play as Knuckles in Sonic 3’s levels was great. Hyper Sonic, Super Tails and Super Knuckles all as playable characters was also great. Hidden Palace zone (which was missing from the 2nd game) being in the game, well…that made the game priceless.

9. Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door (GC)

I have played all the Paper Mario games, out of all of them this is my favorite one. Super Paper Mario is a great game as well, but this one feels less gimmicky.


8. Megaman 2 (NES)
I know this is on lots of player’s list of favorite games of all time, but I can’t help it, I love this game. This was the first non-Mario game that I ever cared about. I played Megaman 2 before I ever even tried the first game.

7. Zelda 3: A Link to the Past (SNES)

This game is everything the first one is and so much more. I have played this game almost to completion at least 6 times in my life. I still have yet to finish the game though.6. Super Metroid (SNES)
I didn’t play this game until 2008 and yet it still amazed me. This is one of those few games that really stands up to the test of time. I was so into this game that I would get up really early in the morning, sneak out of bed so that my wife (who was my fiance at the time) wouldn’t hear me and then I would start playing. I’d play from 6 or 7am until 9am or so. I downloaded the game to my Wii using the Virtual Console service. After I beat this game I also picked up Zero Mission and Fusion for Game Boy Advance. Those were also great games, but nothing compared to Super Metroid.

5. Castlevania: SOTN (PS1)
I have played through this game numerous times. I had a copy of this game for Playstation and more recently got it for Xbox Live Arcade. I have collected all 200 achievement points for the game and still find myself going back to play it. I was just recently very tempted to get a PSP just for Castlevania Chronicles(which includes SOTN) so that I could play through this game again.

4. Breath of Fire 3 (PS1)
This was my Final Fantasy 7. Back when all my friends were playing Final Fantasy 7 and all the magazines where raving about Final Fantasy 7, I was playing this game. I absolutely love this game and one day hope to own the 4th game as well (I just can’t bring myself to pay $40.00 on ebay or Amazon). There had been rumors going around a few years ago that a Breath of Fire collection might come out for 360, PS3 or Wii. There was also a rumor that a new game was being made. I’ve been holding out ever since that these rumors might be true, but I haven’t heard anything recently.

3. Castlevania 3 (NES)
This is my favorite Castlevania game of all time. I like this game even more than SOTN. I love that it allows you to play as Alucard. I still play this game every Halloween.

2. Megaman 3 (NES)
This is my favorite Megaman game. I know a lot of people will hate me for this, and swear that Megaman 2 is better. This is my favorite though. I was heartbroken when Megaman 9 and 10 removed Megamans slide move. I loved this game when it was on NES and still love it to this day. Capcom did a great job with this game, I feel the third game in the series was the perfect Megaman game.

1. Super Mario Bros. 3 (NES)
I don’t think that there is a single game out there that I have logged more hours on than Super Mario Bros. 3. I had it when it came out on NES, then later I purchased it on SNES (with Super Mario All-Stars). I purchased it for Game Boy Advance.I purchase the game the day it came out on Virtual Console. I also recently picked up the Super Mario All-Stars 25th Anniversary for Wii. Still to this day it is one of my fall-back games, if I can’t think of another game to play I just play this.

For a video game lover like myself it can be really hard to come up with a 20 favorite games of all time list (originally I was going to do a 10 games of all time list but realized that it was impossible). I’m sure as the current gen games age and my memories of them age as well that some of the current gen games might sneak into my list. Depending on my mood at the time of writing this the list could have contained a few other games. After I started writing this I started playing through all the Megaman games again. If I had waited till after I was finished I’ll bet I would have put Megaman 1 and 4 up there on the list as well. I am also a huge Call of Duty and Halo fan, but I didn’t feel like those where some of my favorites (even though I log tons of hours on each).

I even wrote an entire comic about my love for Super Mario Bros. 3 which was published on Retrojunk.com which you can find here.

Honorable mentions: Ninja Gaiden Black, Worms, Kirby’s Dreamland, Megaman (Gameboy), Twisted Metal: Head On, Goldeneye, Perfect Dark, Sonic CD, Tetris.

Leave a Reply

