Thrift Store Junkie #3 (March 20, 2011)

Yesterday I stopped at two Goodwill stores to see if there was anything worth picking up. I was very disappointed at the first Goodwill I stopped at. I found two games that I had been wanting to get my hands on for a long time. The games were Need For Speed: Porsche Unleashed and Twisted Metal 4 for Playstation. The cases were in perfect condition. Unfortunately when I opened the cases neither game was inside. I searched through all of the Playstation cases that were in the store, but none of the cases contained the games I was looking for. I also turned down a copy of Alien Trilogy for Playstation that was three dollars that I now kinda wish I had purchased.

My next Goodwill stop turned out a lot better, I picked up three games. Each cost one dollar. The games I picked up were Battletoads, Beavis and Butthead (both for Sega Genesis) and Wolverine: Adamantium Rage (for Super Nintendo).Battletoads is a game that I had been looking to pick up for a very long time. When I was young I had Battletoads for Nintendo and it was one of my favorite games. When the Playstation was released I sold all of my Nintendo games dirt cheap in order to buy a couple Playstation games. A few years ago I had been looking to find a replacement copy of Battletoads for the Nintendo when I found out that Battletoads had also been released on the Sega Genesis. When I found this out I quit looking for the Nintendo version and started looking for the Genesis version immediately. The game is so much fun and almost exactly as I remember it, the only difference is that it looks a ton better on the Genesis.

Beavis and Butthead for Sega Genesis is a game that I always wanted to own. I had borrowed my friends copy when it first came out and I loved it. It reminds my of many of the early 90’s point and click adventures on the PC. It’s not really a point and click game though, but the art style and size of the characters reminds me of those games. The main goal of the game is to collect the pieces of your Gwar tickets that have been chopped up by a lawnmower and blown all over town by the wind. The game is extremely difficult and I remember not being able to pass a single stage back in the day. I played the game yesterday and I realized that I am still terrible at this game and couldn’t complete a single stage. The final game that I picked up was Wolverine: Adamantium Rage for Super Nintendo. I had never played this game before, but being that I am a huge comic book fan I decided to give it a try. I expected this game to be a lot better than it turned out to be. It doesn’t really feel like you are controlling Wolverine as opposed to just some random character. You could replace the Wolverine character with new sprites and call this game by a new title and I don’t think anyone would notice. Wolverine has a very awkward looking punch, an even more awkward kick and a super awkward downward claw slash at his disposal. The level that I played was very uninspired and looked like something out of a crappy Metroid clone (lots of platforms to jump to and tons of small flying enemies). I only gave this game about ten minutes of my time before turning it off. It’s a shame because I really expected something great out of this game, especially after seeing the kick ass title screen. The weather outside is getting warmer (in Pennsylvania) and yard sale/flea market season should be starting up again real soon. I am excited to be able to  update the Thrift Store Junkie portion of Pixelated Heart as the season chugs along.

Till next time!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

