Lemmings: My favorite game that I’ve never owned


Illustration by Pat Henzy

We all have one of those games that although we liked them quite a bit we never got around to owning a copy. For me one of those games is Lemmings. The first time I ever saw Lemmings was on my friend’s Amiga computer. At the time I only owned a Nintendo, the Sega Genesis had only recently been released and I had never seen the type of graphics that the Amiga could churn out. Surprisingly my favorite game on the Amiga was a simple puzzle game called Lemmings. In Lemmings you must help the Lemming creatures make it to the exit. It sounds easy enough, but its not. The Lemmings are dumb, very very dumb. What you do to complete each level is click on lemmings to give them jobs, they can do things such as build a bridge, dig a tunnel, float using an umbrella and tons of other things. I remember this game being frustratingly hard and my friend and I spending hours on individual levels while we alternated turns each time one of us failed. Throughout my entire life I have had fond memories of this game but for some reason or another I never ended up getting a copy of my own.
Lemmings on PS1

The game was ported to almost every console from Gameboy to PS1. I have been expecting to see a copy pop up on Xbox Live Arcade since the day Worms was released for Live Arcade(Worms is a similar puzzle game, but only in the way that you would say Tetris is similar to Yoshi’s Cookie or Super Puzzle Fighter). I have currently made it my mission to find a copy of this game (Probably for Genesis or PS1) and review it in the near future to see if it holds up to the memories I have of the game. Lemmings is my favorite game that I never owned a copy of. What’s yours?

Leave a Reply

