Disarm the toy industry (112)


I drew this old lady based on something I read in In God We Trust All Others Pay Cash by Jean Shepherd. The passage I based this on is as follows:

DISARM THE TOY INDUSTRY

Printed in angry block red letters the slogan gleamed out from the large white button like a neon sign. I carefully reread it to make sure that I had not made a mistake,

DISARM THE TOY INDUSTRY

That’s what it said. There was no question about it.

The button was worn by a tiny Indignant-type little old lady wearing what looked like an upturned flowerpot on her head and, I suspect (viewing it from this later date), a pair of Ked tennis shoes on her feet, which were primly hidden by the Automat table at which we both sat.

Leave a Reply

