Sega Saturn

This past weekend I finally got my hands on a Sega Saturn of my very own. A
couple of my friends have owned Sega Saturns throughout my life and I had always been jealous of them. The Sega Saturn was a great system at the time it was released. Unfortunately the Playstation kicked the Saturns butt pretty early on and 3rd party support dropped off the radar. I remember playing almost perfect arcade ports of games on my friends Saturn systems though and couldn’t figure out why the Playstation was winning the battle between the two consoles. As far as I was concerned the system that had arcade ports such as Daytona USA, Virtua Fighter, Sega Rally Championship, Virtua Cop and Die Hard Arcade was the obvious winner. Plus I really liked Clockwork Knight, Bug!, Sonic 3D blast and Three Dirty Dwarves.

I was away for the weekend so I had my Mom pick up the Saturn for me (she loves all things related to flea markets, yard sales and craigslist, so she didn’t mind picking this up for me). For forty bucks I got the following:

A sega Saturn, one regular controller and the 3D controller(which was originally a pack in with the game Nights).

I also got a ton of games with the lot. Here are the games that I got with the system:

Virtua Fighter Remix, Virtua Fighter 2, Sonic 3D Blast, Nights into Dreams, Sega Rally Championship, X-Men:Children of the Atom, Night Warriors: Darkstalkers Revenge, True Pinball, World Series Baseball 2, NHL 97, Madden 97, The Lost World-Jurrasic Park, Quarterback Attack, a Panzer Dragoon preview disk and a Bug! preview disk.

I tested the system out last night and it works like a charm. I played Night Warriors and X-Men for awhile but I couldn’t stay up too late because I had work in the morning. I plan to play a lot of Nights next weekend (it was one of the games that my friends and I used to play a lot of when I was younger).

Leave a Reply

