Interpreting Retro

Hey everybody! I started a new project called Interpreting Retro where I draw a picture of how I saw or imagined a retro game from my childhood. My Instagram account is @Phenzy and I hashtag these #interpretingretro. Here are the ones I’ve made so far:

slimeinsta

Yay! Dragon Warrior slime!

dragon-warrior

I know this wasn’t the intention, but this is always what the hero in the original Dragon Warrior looked like to me.

karnov

Karpov always looks like he is holding his pants up.

contra

The end heart boss in Contra always looked like Popeye to me.

little-nemo

Little Nemo climbing into animal suits always freaked me out a bit for a game that wasn’t supposed to be creepy.

zelda-the-end

I always thought the end of the original Zelda was pretty rough when Gannon died and became just a pile of guts.

castle-3

Cyclops from Castlevania 3: Dracula’s Curse.

eye-guy-cv2

Eyeball from Castlevania 2: Simon’s Quest.

 

Each of these images is available on items over on my Redbubble account.

Leave a Reply

